, attached to 1995-12-28

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Solid Playing SOAM opener is a rare occurrence so that's pretty cool. It's a very strong and powerful version. Well played Curtain. Incredibly strong possum so many good peaks and just spot on playing. Yet another strong Timber from December 95'! Very strong Theme in its infant form. Weird slot for WIlson & Buried Alive and it kind of messes with the flow to me. Tweezer has a very strong jam, very experimental with a nice groove in the middle. Intense and kind of eerie towards the end. Cool spacey segue into I Didn't Know (also in a weird slot. Slave is relatively strong to close. Straightforward Encore.
, attached to 2014-09-26

Review by Brickmaestro

Brickmaestro Agree that the Divided Sky was beautiful with the full LA Phil behind it. Petrichor did feel a little derivative, but was still nice. The experimental "heartbeat" music group that opened up before Trey was weird. Overall, an unusual, but welcome Phishy experience. Trey was certainly having a good time, and that's always fun to see.
, attached to 2017-04-28

Review by 46Blaze

46Blaze This was my first time getting to see any of Trey's side projects live. Cool weather, constant breeze, and TAB ripping it up for a solid hour and a half – what more could you want out of a Friday at Jazz Fest? Just wanted to add, since the setlist seems to be having some trouble finding its way to the web, that First Tube>Dazed and Confused was a late-set highlight, Money, Love and Change had a deep funky jam, and the encore of Push on 'Til the Day left us all on an extremely high note. I also seem to remember Valentine and Small Axe being played. Still chasing my great Jibboo. See you guys at the Baker's Dozen! P.S. J-Ha is a force of nature!
, attached to 1995-12-29

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A show with a lot to offer (besides the just the obvious) My Friend My Friend is played very strong as the opener. DWD is a really well played ripper. Stash is pretty chaotic and destructive and stretched out for a little bit. The always strong and well played Fluffhead after. And an extra strong Llama. Set 2 has a rare Makisupa opener. Gin kicks off strong and has a nice jam before going into one of the most legendary and well known segues ever into The Real Me. It is one of those lofty bell big triumphant moments in Phishtory. And after Real Me you get a nice little jam. It goes back into Gin flawlessly for it's conclusion. McGrupp is pretty top notch. BBFCFM is very well played and the Bass jam after is very nice. It features a bunch of different movements from Funk, To Classical, to Blues infused. Yet another fantastic segue into La Grange fueled by the Blues Bass section. Bouncing is even notably strong. Golgi Encore is Golgi Encore. Overall a fantastic show front to back. There is however something missing to me to make it 5 stars. But it's pretty damn close!!!
, attached to 2017-04-29

Review by AustinTxNate

AustinTxNate Legendary TAB show. Leaving the venue, I saw people with jaws on the ground and others smiling from ear to ear. The perfect mix of Saturday night party tunes, huge soaring peaks and a nod to Willie Nelson's 84th birthday. Here is my story about the latter. We made these incredible shirts merging Trey and Willie's face, with print saying "Have a Willie nice Trey". Think Trey's face, and Willie's iconic braids and headband. We were able to find someone at C3 to give 8 shirts to, and they delivered them to the band at Brunch that morning. The Austin Jamily met up at Pelon's, across the street from Stubb's, at 6:00 so that everyone that ordered (about 45) could pick them up. My Fiance saw Trey come out of his bus about 30 yards away, and knowing that we might never get another chance to meet him, bolted across the street giving Trey a huge hug and kiss. My buddy and I shortly followed and sheepishly gave Trey a handshake Hug, freaking out inside. He looked at the shirts we designed and said, "oh, I love those shirts!" I replied, "it's Willie's birthday!". He paused and said " Really?, we should play Willie tonight." Just like that, before we could get a picture, he was ushered away backstage. Riding high, we finished a couple more pitchers of Margs and heading in for primo spots in front of the Hartswick, Cressman and Casey. Our night could not get any better. But then...Trey opens with On the Road again and our entire group just lost it. High fives, hugs and tears of joy to start the show. We did it! The forecasted thunderstorms dissipated and there was no turning back from there. So much love at Stubbs that night and the band returned it with a beautiful show. Nights like that are what dreams are made of.
, attached to 2000-07-03

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw DWD kicks things off. Nothing exploratory or out there but Trey absolutely demolishes it towards the end very good kick in the butt to start things off. The Gin jam slowly builds with some great hose slowly swirling and revolving (much like the storm ahead). It soars for a little while before it comes back down to earth. Pretty good version of My Soul follows. Strong Heavy Things and Fluffhead (as usual). Jim kicks off the second set and after about 10mins it dives into a jam with some great drum work by Fish. All the looping and weird effects kick in and a solid groove ensues. They are firing on all cylinders and it mellows out into some psychedelia. It then speeds up into a nice thunderous groove and Trey rocks out hard for a powerful ending. Theme is very strongly played. Sand although stretched IMO is the pretty standard repetitive groove you get this whole year. Waste is a pretty nice and strong encore. Overall a pretty above average show.
, attached to 2017-04-28

Review by andrewdelnorte

andrewdelnorte Definitely included: Cayman Review, Mozambique, Dark & Down, Sand, Clint Eastwood, Magilla (I don't have the order, these are just he songs I recall). I didn't catch the whole set, but the band played great and it was an outstanding part of an insanely fun Jazz Fest day. Great crowd, and Trey seemed to be having a blast.
, attached to 1997-07-11

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show interests me because unlike most festival sets it isn't super songy. You have a lot of meaty songs like Stash, Wolfman, an YEM. This gives it a more unique and special quality you don't see in a lot of there sets at large festivals. Stash goes into a very nice groove and mike holds it down. Solid Wolfman with a pretty straightforward jam. Fantastic segue into Johnny B. Goode, and a ripping version. Straightforward but strong YEM with a lightening fast intro. Overall not super memorable but a pretty good festival set.
, attached to 1997-07-10

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw An unbelievably fun show. I have come to realize, after listening to this tour in it's entirety that the guys had a very different approach to a lot of these shows. First and foremost was injecting new songs into the air and feeling them out live, shuffling them around, and learning about them. But another big thing I've noticed (especially towards the end) is that a lot of these shows are total experiments. Shows like 6/25, the famous 7/2 Wormtown show, and this show are some of the most bizarre shows I've ever heard. But out of those 3 named they are all utterly fantastic shows. I guess what I'm getting at is this tour was kind of the ultimate warmup for the year. Get out the new and rough songs and shake off some of the rust. Screw around with your creativity with setlists. These are things that I believe set the tone for the heights of the summer tour. And of course the most famous tour of all the 1997 Fall Tour. They start out with some new tunes that are very tightly played (because they play them every night) but things really kick off when Gin shows up. The jam starts out pretty vicious. It simmers into a nice funky jam with the siren in the background. The jam itself is pretty straightforward compared to the weirdness to come. Llama itself is absolutely solid and inspired. It jumps into a fast paced funk jam with Mike smacking the crap out of the bass. And it just goes further and further down the Rabbit hole. The jam is fantastic and just so out there. It goes perfectly into Wading. The Llama -> Jam > Wading sequence already took place a few days previous in Amsterdam so it's curious to see it again. No complaints both sequences are fantastic! The set gets even more bizarre with the Lizards theme jam which is also top notch and out of left field. Likely one of the most experimental 1st sets they've ever played. And it totally paid off. 2001 features a lot of fun banter at the beginning. Julius is very well played an stretched out with some great work by Trey. The segue into Magilla is just fantastic, and as usual they nail it. Yamar has some hilarious vampire banter from Trey and is just an extremely fun version. The segue into Ghost is really great and it features a very fluid nice rocking jam. The experimentation doesn't end quite yet. Take me to the River comes out of nowhere. And let me tell you it is weird as hell too. Very very experimental jam. And you get an encore with special guests. One of the best shows of this tour. Would do again.
, attached to 2016-10-25

Review by Midcoaster

Midcoaster This is not Boreal Ridge by any means, folks. That was the stinker that the Dead dropped on expectant fans in 1985. I only bring that up because it was a venue with high expectations. Grand Prairie was a venue imbued with high expectations. Not many of us get to see a show in a venue of 6,300 any more. The band, it seems to me, was almost practicing perfection in a small venue, dialing their sound in for *songs.* Is that making excuses? I don't think so. Rather, it's my interpretation of what was happening, what it [i]sounds[/i] like on play back. I also have to say that the Taste is as sweet as can be with what I perceive to be Third Stone from the Sun teases (ever so slightly around 6:50). We can't have a 10/28 every night. On the other hand, difference is what makes those nights stand out. These guys have chops, and what better way to hone them than to do so in a venue with sweet sound? This is not an aural disaster, no matter what they say. (3.0)
, attached to 2016-07-03

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads Tube has a nice bit of Echoplexing going on during the funk portion. Not much else for me to say about the first set--though it's well-played-- except that Scent of a Mule was pretty interesting, with the Marimba Lumina and so forth, and Possum was its usual ripping self. Soul Shakedown Party is a bigly chased song, so that's nice for anyone who was there. The real story with this show is the first big The Moma Dance for quite a while, maybe since 2003. It features a tension-and-release peak-building jam that resolves into another peak before exploring some ambient bliss-out territory that I dearly wish had been explored more thoroughly. Hood is great, but not an all-time version in my opinion. Rock and Roll encore is cool, too; I just wish Rock and Roll as well as Drowned would get the 20-min. jam treatment again some time soon. Maybe throw in a few of those to open second sets instead of Down with Disease once in a while. 3 stars.
, attached to 2016-07-02

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This is an average-great show to my ears. The next night would feature deeper jamming, in an unexpected place. But first! BOTT features some Sleeping Monkey teasing, which is very phun. Divided Sky, there's one point towards the end of the jam that Fishman does this intriguing little figure (wish I could timestamp it) that makes this version stand out upon a close listen. This Rift is a little bit laid-back, I might say, but nonetheless very enjoyable. Perhaps not coincidence that it leads into the slow-country version of Water in the Sky? 46 Days certainly has a little "extra mustard," especially judging by the audience response. WOTC closer standard. Light has a great jam, and it's pretty long, since the Light composition is pretty short. The segue into Golden Age is a bit clunky in my opinion. That's about it for jamming in this show, though, although a Bouncing, Antelope encore is always appreciated.
, attached to 1997-07-05

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Not bad not bad Strong Julius to start the show. Twist gets into a nice funky groove with some nice vocal teases by Fish. Hood is very strong and especially thoughtful in its playing. Coil is gorgeous and probably fantastic for the scenery. Over all not all that bad of a show considering it's just one single set. The funky bitch soundcheck is also worth checking out.
, attached to 1997-06-29

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very very Average show I like any show that opens with YEM. It's something that knocks you off your feet right away. This YEM is slightly stretched out but pretty straightforward. There's nothing else really noteworthy about this show besides yet another strong Theme. However I can't really knock it down below average because the playing is fantastic as always. Just very average festival show. Nothing wrong with those from time to time!
, attached to 1997-06-25

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw One of the weirdest Post 93' 2nd sets I've ever heard. Bag makes a strong tour debut. Saw it again is extra venomous very strong. Besides that I don't have much to say about set 1 basically because most of it is the songs they've played consistently every night. And all are played very well but nothing else really stands out. Set 2 now is a whole different story. What a bizarre strange set, and it just doesn't end once it starts. I don't know what was in the Kool-Aid at setbreak but I'd try it at least once. The DWD jam gets into some thunderous funk. It speeds up going for a wild ride, then fizzles into some nice mucky funk. There jams are becoming more cohesive every show. It also makes a cool sandwich coming back from Piper. Super weird Meatstick section that sounds nothing like it would after. The segue into Mcgrupp is a great swampy mucky mess that is some kind of Makisupa McGrupp monster. Not much else I could say besides it being very very out there even for this time. Cecilla continues the bizarreness. And just to mess with you more Rock A. William comes in on the oddest note. This great set ends with a very strong Antelope. How about a nice meaty Guyute encore? YES PLEASE! The first set doesn't do a whole lot. But the 2nd more than makes up for it.
, attached to 1997-06-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw More of the same setlist. The guys are still trying to shake off the rust of all the new songs. But they also have a pile of older songs they are really into playing fairly consistently as well (Taste, Stash, Theme). It's all pretty tight playing and a pretty good quick set. Another strong Taste. Stash is power and intense as it should be. YET ANOTHER strong Theme. Ghost has a nice jam starting with some nice "97' Jamming" followed by some hooting by Fish which is very reminiscent of the Island Tour Roses Jam. And of course yet another LxL. Overall a decent show with some good meaty songs shoved in.
, attached to 1997-06-21

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Typical festival set. Sample has a nice extra explosive guitar solo. 2001 is in a weird slot I've never seen it in but it is short & sweet as a festival set would permit it to be. Yet another strong Taste. Why is every Theme during this tour so good? Just another great fluid version. Dirt is strong. Hood is cohesive and good. Twist has an odd mellow start to the jam. But it builds thanks to some Thunder provided by Fish. It mellows again and goes into some Trippy Ambience before finishing with some more Thunderous playing. Overall it feels like a pretty forced jam, but hey it's a new song so they are trying to figure it out. Overall a decent festival set unloading some new songs.
, attached to 1997-06-20

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw The best show yet of this tour! Things are gradually coming together jam and set construction wise! Taste is a nice ripper to kick things off. The jam after is a super weird one, very nice and cohesive and of course a pretty good segue into Cities. Fish is all over cities although its pretty compact. Horn is pretty powerful. Ain't love funny is a pretty good sequence. The segue into LxL is just amazing so seamless, Lxl is still slowly growing. Another Chaotic I Don't Care. Antelope is strong as always to cap this pretty strong first set. Bowie opens the second set and it's fairly strong. They stretch it out a bit and it is a little too noodley for my taste, but still has the weird & intense elements that Bowie should have. Ghost little by little gets more and more jammed out. This one has a nice groove. Trey is on fire at the end of it. Bye Bye foot although a slow ballad really works in this mid set, makes me wish they'd give it a spin again. Twist has a nice jam, first with Mike in the lead and then it mellows into a nice slow groove. Julius is strong. Very straight forward encore. Overall 2 pretty strong sets with a lot of interesting things to offer. I give this my 1st 4 star of this tour.
, attached to 1994-10-15

Review by kipmat

kipmat There's nothing wrong with the circulating AUD of this show, but 10/15/94 would make an interesting LivePhish archival release, because the band lowers their volume rather often during this show. The best example is the Catapult section in the middle of the YEM jam, but Reba and Golgi also have extended quiet sections, and a SBD would also capture the band using the group mics for Amazing Grace and Foreplay/Long Time. Plus, there's some mumbled banter at the start of set 2, as the band is checking their vocal mics - it sounds like Trey is saying "I feel like farting" in a silly, weasely voice, before Fishman says, "Aw, I bet Trey thinks this has gone on too long"! Would a SBD illuminate what this was all about? :-)
, attached to 1997-06-19

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Yet another average show. Sometimes It takes a show or two for the guys to get their footing. This tour seems to take a little longer than usual to really get started in my opinion. There are several possible reasons for this. 1.) They have a ton of new material a lot of which will end up on "Story of The Ghost" and a few on "Farmhouse". 2.) They are playing in a totally different country. Yes a lot of folks came across the pond to see them play these shows. But maybe there was a need for them to tend to people who were maybe not as familiar as those following them in the states. Either way they're not playing bad at all so it's not that big of a deal. The show kicks off with LxL and Dogs Stole Things. Two of the most played songs so far. Not too much of a difference besides the tightening each time they were played. Theme once again delivers they have been on fire with the last couple of them. I like the lightening fast segue into PYITE they were definitely in tune for that. Maze is very good with some nice "Cool Jerk" type teases. Waste has a especially strong ending to it. Stash starts the 2nd set. It is there first true dip into some jamming this tour. It escalates into a tense jam with some great work by Page. It mellows out into a nice jam led by Fish and what sounds like a germ of what will become Black Eyed Katy. Nice segue into Ghost, it's interesting to think that the intro to Ghost will change quite a bit and this is one of the few segues that goes into the quick funk into of Ghost. Strong Jesus Left Chicago Trey just goes off. Caspian ends the set on a very gorgeous note, it is very inspired. Standard Encore
, attached to 1997-06-16

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very average show. Taste is very strong and well played. A top tier Theme in terms of playing. Wolfman has a nice mellow '97 style jam to it. Besides that the rest of the first set is fairly forgettable. LxL is the best version yet with Fishman all over it. Ghost dips a little deeper into experimentation but not too deep. The "I Don't Care" sequence is pretty cool and seamless. Strong Reba not peaky or particularly beautiful but well played. Hood is strong and pretty. Cities is always a welcome encore and this one is short but pretty sweet. Overall more messing around by the guys implementing there new songs into their sets. It doesn't make for anything noteworthy or memorable but still a well played show.
, attached to 1987-04-29

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule I just want to add a note about the FYF debut, and sole live performance of the song until 2010. It can be listened to by downloading this show from the spreadsheet. The recording starts at the second verse. It sounds like it does today, but instead of the "Hi, I'm Bill..." line, Page says "Hi, I'm Page," (which I think is especially funny) and the band immediately goes into the fast-paced ascending riff. But then, instead of the song stopping like it does today, Trey turns on Jimmy Page mode while the rest of the band is silent, essentially playing off of the Heartbreaker solo. Trey's guitar tone sounds exceptionally screechy and bad ass. Mike comes in with the Dazed and Confused bass riff, Trey keeps soloing and the band plays on the Dazed theme for a brief time before closing with a long sustained noise fade out (not sure what else to call it). It's only about two minutes of Phish history, but I thought it was worth sharing for anyone that wants to hear some of Trey's Jimmy Page influence.
, attached to 1997-06-14

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Slowly warming up. Yet another show of new songs. Even some repeats from the night before. This adds to the awkward flow of the 2nd set. The debut of Dirt is slightly rough, but I actually like how it is played. Cars Trucks & Buses is stronger than the norm. Another LxL not far off from the one the night before, pretty straightforward. For most of the set the crowd wants "Free" and they finally get it. It's the highlight of the set and has some great funk in the middle. Caspian is a great set closer. Twist comes out the gate for its debut finely polished and obviously well rehearsed, as is Piper. The remainder of the set is very off and likely not totally thought out. A lot of the song selection would soon be 1st set songs. There is a last second show highlight with David Bowie and Cavern. Bowie although not epic or very exploratory is stretched out a little and well played. Cavern strangely enough goes into a funk jam halfway though, mostly Trey messing around with the wah. But it is very cohesive and they go back into the ending section of Cavern easily. When the Circus Comes and Rocky Top are just the standard encore. Overall not really any better or worse than the average show the night before. But still a string of cool debuts.
, attached to 1997-06-13

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Unique and interesting Tour Opener A lot of tours open with the guys unloading a bunch of new material. Sometimes all at once and sometimes spread out. This is one of those shows where they just unload. Limb By Limb is the first interesting part of the first set to me, only because it is a strong version for a debut. Wolfman really gets things going as it goes into a nice groove jam pretty quick. Fish starts laying it down and Trey follows. Great groove and a great picture of the funky jam style that makes 97' so legendary. Taste is also pretty strong. Stash is quite strong and a preview of what is to come later on in the European tour, nothing to ground breaking or new but just a great extended version. Maze keeps the intensity going after Stash and is played very well. Slave is in a bizarre placement mid set and is fairly straightforward. CDT is very unique as it goes into a very funky jam midway and does not ever return to CDT proper. It has a very strong segue into the very first Ghost. Ghost doesn't really drift off but it's a great solid first version. The segue into Olivias pool is also very cool. I love that they are segueing into these brand new songs like they've played them for years. The encore to me is likely the highlight of the show. You get two debut covers both played fantastically. Stand! even has a funk jam in it that moves it in the first of several great segues into Izabella that is played so inspired that you almost mistake Trey for Jimi for a second. Overall a really good start to the tour. Nothing epic or legendary or necessarily memorable. Just a solid fun show.
, attached to 2011-08-15

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A powerhouse of a show. Right off the bat you get a very strong Back On The Train, not extended or especially unique but very strong. One of the best ScentOAM of 3.0. Wolfman immediately goes into a jungle funk groove, then moves into a beautiful yet tense jam, and ends in a great peak. Babylon Baby is a well played Debut. Alumni Blues is always a great bustout and it is very well played. Sand starts the 2nd set on a strong note. Light has a very quick but very good dark/evil jam that is very potent for how short it is. The first of many great segues in this set is the > into Dirt (it kind of reminds me of the end of Money going into Us and Them). Waves is very top notch with a fantastic inspired solo. The segue into Undermind is fantastic and flawless. Undermind really holds the set together perfectly and the guys are giving it their all. It also goes a bit deeper than you'd expect for 13mins. Yet another great segue into Steam. Fire is destructive and great to close out the set. And now for the most epic encore of 3.0 (so far) almost another set of music! Not crazy about all the songs played (besides hood) but everything is very well played. And hood is especially bass bomb crazy as Mike just goes off trying to shake every brick from the building. Overall a fantastic inspired show. I almost would give it 5 stars, however it is missing that overall feeling of legendary to me. So I will give it "Over" 4 stars ;)
, attached to 1997-07-06

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw One of those "Burnt Out" shows. Maybe it was the extended soundcheck or the guys weren't sleeping too well but this show just gives off the impression of being exhausted. There's not really too much to write about for the first set besides Stash which kind of picks up it's jam legs after the epic Paradiso version a few days earlier. It picks up steam and goes into a weird chaotic jam followed by a tense little groove. Mule is especially sloppy. The remainder of the set is a bunch of straightforward quick tunes that don't add to the show much. Overall a pretty forgettable show, one of the weakest from this tour. Set 2 opens with a free with a different midsection, instead of the pulsing groove you typically get this one is very funk influenced not by way of the bass groove but by Page and Trey's playing with Wah and clav effects. YEM is somewhat awkward to my ears because you can hear the guys really trying to jam this one out, it feels very forced. Unfortunately it comes out as they can't really keep a decent idea together and it all feels somewhat disorganized. It is notable for not having a vocal jam though.
, attached to 2010-08-07

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This is a really REALLY good show. Top 3 for 2010. The first set is superb just extremely solid front to back. Bag is very strong right out of the gate, no real stretch to it but very solid. Foam is well played. The highlight for me of the first set is Jibboo, it's very pretty and just fantastic hose throughout. It is definitely 11 minutes that is worth any fan of hose and/or Jibboo. Reba, Sleep Again, and Army of One are all just top notch with great tight playing. 46 days is also fantastic with an amazing solo by Trey and a cool but brief jam at the end. The segue from Wilson to Light is interesting to say the least. Maybe a little rushed? One of those segues that I'm not sure is a ripchord or almost flawless. Regardless it is very apparent that they had plans for light from the get go and they're just gonna go for it. The jam starts out pretty intense, it mellows out as Trey noodles around as Page adds layers of ambient noise. The remainder is just a nice pulsing groove I like quite a bit. Hood is very thoughtful and strong. Theme is also extremely strong and has a very triumphant solo by Trey. Suzy even has a little extra to it. Slave is pretty standard but who complains about Slave closing a set? Ok it's been a pretty long show maybe just a short encore? Nope! They play Lizards and First Tube. What a fantastic show. One of the best from 2010.
, attached to 1991-12-31

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very interesting show. Some great destructive playing mixed with a lot of "Playing it safe" versions of songs. Possum rips the top off the building to start the show. Stash is a little sloppy but towards the end great peaks ensue. Straight Forward but well played Lizards. Very Strong Gueluh and Esther. Llama is one of the biggest highlights of the show (crazy right?) Pages organ solo is just insane and Trey comes in and tries to top Pages solo with an insane one of his own. Brother is a huge version and kind of evil. Reba is not epic or peaky by any means but still well played. Also a very safe Antelope which I find very odd expecting them to go balls out with it. The intro to Wilson is that of legends it's just hilarious and perfect. Tweezer has a nice jam pretty early on, a very clear view of what was to come in later years. Mikes song has a nice bouncy groove towards the end. And Hydrogen is just gorgeous and top notch couple of minutes. Nice little quick 3 song encore. This show is a glimpse of the past and the future. Great playing, a little messing around with songs, and the band still has that extra intimate feeling that would only last for another year or so.
, attached to 2016-07-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw It's always funny how "Being There" can change your perception about a show. I showed up extra early and spent several hours enjoying others company sheltered from the blazing Southern California summer heat. Great day great vibes all around. The goal originally was to get in line to be in the first phase of people on the floor. Of course as usual one thing leads to another and plans don't pan out. Luckily I was with people who knew people and I somehow managed to be one person behind the rail Page side. That easily is a plus for any show. There is not much to write home about for the first set besides the Cavern>Antelope mashup. No bad playing per say just nothing with any heat on it. Set break was especially long for this show. Something like 45mins? Treys guitar tech spent a significant amount of time messing with his pedals and holding a manual. From what we gathered he was having technical issues. This is likely what made most of the show not result in balls out jamming or messing around. If you don't trust your effects gear you're limited and likely anxious and that effects your playing. Second set is much like the 1st set except with even more of the feeling of them cramming in as many songs as possible. Fuego has a little messing around to it but not much. It seems they were making up for the long set break and played a slightly longer set. Even sticking YEM in at the very end (very much to everyone's surprise). My favorite part of that set was The Wedge yes no jamming or anything unique. But it is so well played that I was just dancing my ass off. Overall note a noteworthy show by any means. The playing was still pretty spot on and I've seen worse shows, especially those where they have trouble connecting and to me that's much worse.
, attached to 1993-08-07

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Another great show from a great year. Lots of strong playing, lots of your typical shenanigans. Set one has a beautiful and cohesive stash. Trey and Page have a lot of fun with it riffing around. Reba is straightforward but strong. Very well played very strong Maze where everyone is on pointe with nice Stairway to heaven Tease. Really enjoy the "Rollercoaster of the Mind" Mockingbird Narration. Set two has a nice Mikes-> Kung sequence. A top notch segue into The Sloth. A typically strong MFMF. Mcgrupp I also noticeably strong. Antelope starts out a little disjointed but becomes the standard ripper that it is. Average encore for this era. Overall a very strong show that illustrates all of the bands strengths at the time.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2017  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation